Follow us in Google News. Google News

Match Preview IPL 2017: Match 7 MI vs KKR

MI vs KKR IPL 2017 Match 6

Check: MI vs KKR IPL 2017 Qualifier 2

7th Match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 will be played at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai between the home team Mumbai Indians (MI) and the guest team Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on 9th April, 2017. This will be the first match of the season at Wankhede Stadium and an Opening Ceremony will be organised before the match.

Mumbai Indians had lost its first match against Rising Pune Supergaint at Pune. Mumbai Indians were not able to pick up wickets of Steve Smith, and Ajinkya Rahane did all the damage. Mumbai Indians just need a right bowling line up, as batsmen did well in posting a brave total of 184 runs against Rising Pune Supergiant. There are chances of Harbhajan Singh being included in the side. Ambati Rayudu will not play, due to injury that happened during the last match against RPS.

Kolkata Knight Riders had defeated Gujarat Lions in their first match of the tournament and they cannot have a better start than this, wining the match with 10 wickets, while chasing a challenging 183. Lynn and Captain Gambhir are in great form. But the team may be a little concerned about the bowlers. Trent Boult and Chris Woakes conceded maximum runs from the team at the economy of 10+.

Head to Head: MI vs KKR

When coming to head to head MI is dominant over Kolkata Knight Riders. Playing 18 times against each other in previous nine seasons, Mumbai Indians lead with 13 wins and Kolkata Knight Riders had only managed to win 5 matches. Kolkata would like to maintain its performance, while Mumbai Indians would like to open its wining account of the season. Mumbai Indians would be under pressure and Kolkata Knight Riders will have an upper hand according to their recent performances.

Date Winner Won By Venue
Apr 29, 2008 Mumbai Indians 7 Wickets Kolkata
May 16, 2008 Mumbai Indians 8 Wickets Mumbai
Apr 27, 2009 Mumbai Indians 92 Runs Port Elizabeth
May 1, 2009 Mumbai Indians 9 Runs East London
Mar 22, 2010 Mumbai Indians 7 Wickets Mumbai
Apr 19, 2010 Kolkata Knight Riders 9 Wickets Kolkata
May 22, 2011 Mumbai Indians 5 Wickets Kolkata
May 25, 2011 Mumbai Indians 4 Wickets Mumbai
May 12, 2012 Mumbai Indians 27 Runs Kolkata
May 16, 2012 Kolkata Knight Riders 32 Runs Mumbai
Apr 24, 2013 Mumbai Indians 5 Wickets Kolkata
May 7, 2013 Mumbai Indians 65 Runs Mumbai
Apr 16, 2014 Kolkata Knight Riders 41 Runs Abu Dhabi
May 14, 2014 Kolkata Knight Riders 6 Wickets Cuttack
Apr 8, 2015 Kolkata Knight Riders 7 Wickets Kolkata
May 14, 2015 Mumbai Indians 5 Runs Mumbai
Apr 13, 2016 Mumbai Indians 6 Wickets Kolkata
Apr 28, 2016 Mumbai Indians 6 Wickets Mumbai

Match Details: IPL 2017 Match 7 MI vs KKR

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Date: 9th April, 2017
Time: 8:00 pm (IST)

Toss: Mumbai Indians won the toss and opted to field first

Result: Mumbai Indians won by 4 Wickets

Man of the Match: Nitish Rana

Playing XI for MI: Parthiv Patel(w), Jos Buttler, Rohit Sharma(c), Nitish Rana, Saurabh Tiwary, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan

Playing XI for KKR: Gautam Gambhir(c), Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa(w), Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ankit Rajpoot, Chris Woakes, Kuldeep Yadav, Sunil Narine, Trent Boult