Follow us in Google News. Google News

Match Preview IPL 2017: Match 5 RCB vs DD: Who will Win?

RCB vs DD Match 5: IPL 2017

Check: DD vs RCB IPL 2017 Match 56

M. Chinnaswammy Stadium, Bengaluru will host the 5th match of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 which is to be played between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Delhi Daredevils (DD) on 8th of April. Bangalore crowd is one of the most exuberant crowds during IPL and today being Saturday, huge number of spectators are expected , with their infectious energy.

Bangalore must be disappointed after losing out to Sunrisers Hyderabad by 35 runs in the opening game at Hyderabad. Absence of injured Virat Kolhli and AB de Villiers in the batting line-up clearly reflected in the match. There were a few decent starts but no one was able to convert them into anything worthwhile. As there is no news of Virat Kohli and Ab de Villiers coming back to the side, it has definitely set RCB on the back foot. Team would also be concerned about bowling, as apart from Yuzvendra Chahal, everyone else has conceded runs.

Check IPL 2017 Broadcaster and Online Streaming Channels

Check IPL 2017 Points Table

This will be the first match of the guest team Delhi Daredevils in this season . Delhi Daredevils finished 6th at the points table of IPL 2016, and will surely want to improve their tally this time. DD will play under the captaincy of Indian fast bowler Zaheer Khan, while chief coach for the season is the legendary Rahul Dravid. The team has had an early set back because two South African players, JP Duminy and Quinton de Kock, will be not present for the entire season. JP Duminy has been ruled out due to personal reasons and Quinton de Kock is injured. Both were the key players of the Delhi Daredevils. Angelo Mathews is also injured. Now DD lacks the presence of star players in the team and will fully have to rely on the domestic players.

Head to Head: RCB vs DD

DD and RCB have had a total of 16 encounters leaving the one match which got abandoned. DD have won 6 and RCB 10 of the total. Early on, DD was dominant over RCB, with the presence of the likes of Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir in the team, but from the last few years RCB have had an upper hand over their rival. In this match, both the teams will lack the star players and the match is expected to be balanced.

Date Winner Won By Venue
30th April, 2008 Delhi Daredevils 10 Runs Delhi
19th May, 2008 Delhi Daredevils 5 Wickets Bengaluru
26th April, 2009 Delhi Daredevils 6 Wickets Port Elizabeth
17th May, 2009 Royal Challengers Bangalore 7 Wickets Johannesburg
25th March, 2010 Delhi Daredevils 17 Runs Bengaluru
4th April, 2010 Delhi Daredevils 37 Runs Delhi
26th April, 2011 Royal Challengers Bangalore 3 Wickets Delhi
7th April, 2012 Royal Challengers Bangalore 20 Runs Bengaluru
29th April, 2012 Royal Challengers Bangalore 21 Runs Delhi
16th April, 2013 Royal Challengers Bangalore Super Over Bengaluru
10th May, 2013 Royal Challengers Bangalore 10 Runs Delhi
17th April, 2014 Royal Challengers Bangalore 8 Wickets Sharjah
13th May, 2014 Royal Challengers Bangalore 16 Runs Bengaluru
26th April, 2015 Royal Challengers Bangalore 10 Wickets Delhi
17th May, 2015 --- Match
17th April, 2016 Delhi Daredevils 7 Wickets Bengaluru
22nd May, 2016 Royal Challengers Bangalore 8 Wickets Raipur

Match Details: IPL 2017 Match 5 RCB vs DD

Venue: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Date: 8th April, 2017
Time: 8:00 pm (IST)

Toss: Royal Challengers Bangalore won the toss and have opted to field

Result: Royal Challengers won the match by 15 Runs

Playing XI for RCB: Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Vishnu Vinod, Kedar Jadhav(w), Shane Watson(c), Stuart Binny, Pawan Negi, Iqbal Abdulla, Tymal Mills, Yuzvendra Chahal, Billy Stanlake

Playing XI for DD:  Sam Billings, Aditya Tare, Sanju Samson, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant(w), Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Morris, Pat Cummins, Shahbaz Nadeem, Zaheer Khan(c), Amit Mishra