Follow us in Google News. Google News

Most Expensive overs in IPL

Nine seasons Indian Premier League (IPL) had passed and the tenth season will be starting from 5 April, 2017. IPL has become the battle of high scoring game, with the floods of fours and sixes. While the bowlers are under pressure to concede less runs but there are time when the bowler cannot control the batsman and they are hit for the runs and are expensive. There are several times when the bowlers concede more runs in an over.

We will look at the number of times the batsmen were able to score 30 or more runs in an over. While it has only had seven times in nine seasons and only once when the batsman had scored 36+ runs. But six sixes are still to be hit in an over. 36 is the highest run scored in an over in ODI, by Herschelle Gibbs in 2006 against Netherland.

Cricket scoreboard numbers

# 37 Runs
Batsman: Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
Bowler: Prasanth Parameswaran (Kochi Tuskers Kerala)
Season: IPL 2011
Venue: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Over: 6, N+6, 4, 4, 6, 6, 4

# 33 Runs
Batsman: Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings)
Bowler: Parvinder Awana (Kings XI Punjab)
Season: IPL 2014
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Over: 6, 6, 4, 4, N+4, 4, 4

# 33 Runs
Batsmen: Manoj Tiwary and Chris Gayle (Kolkata Knight Riders)
Bowler: Ravi Bopara (Kings XI Punjab)
Season: IPL 2010
Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Over: 1, 6, 6, 6, 6, 5Wides, wide+1, 1

# 31 Runs
Batsmen: Saurabh Tiwary and Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bnagalore)
Bowler: Rahul Sharma (Pune Warriors India)
Season: IPL 2012
Venue: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Over: 1, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6

# 30 Runs
Batsman: Shaun Marsh (Kings XI Punjab)
Bowler: Johan van der Wath (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
Season: IPL 2011
Venue: Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association, Dharamsala
Over: 6, 6, 4, 4, 4, 6

# 30 Runs
Batsman: Virender Sehwag (Delhi Daredevils)
Bowler: Andrew Symonds (Deccan Chargers)
Season: IPL 2008
Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
Over: 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6

# 30 Runs
Batsman: Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
Bowler: Shivil Kaushik (Gujarat Lions)
Season: IPL 2016
Venue: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Over: 6, 4, 6, 6, 6, 2

Some Facts:

  • In the year 2009, 2013 and 2015, 30 or more runs were not scored in an over.
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore has scored 3 times 30 or more runs in an over, which is highest by any team.
  • 3 times 30 or more runs were scored at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, the home ground of Royal Challengers Bangalore.